Overthrows

by

Recently (as in, the last decade), some prominent cricket celebrities have suggested that the fielder should not be penalized for hitting the stumps, and that the ball should be considered dead when it hits the stumps. That’s been a bit controversial and the snail-paced ICC hasn’t made any decision about that. It seems fair enough to me.

But really it’s not the fielder that is being penalized; it’s the bowler. I don’t think anybody would disagree with me when I say that the overthrows should not count as runs against the bowler, but as extras. I believe this is a simple (read: not controversial) and fair rule change.

One Response to “Overthrows”

  1. Alva Says:

    Hi!. Thanks a bunch for the info. I’ve been digging around looking some info up for shool, but i think i’m getting lost!. Google lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the good work. I will be coming back in a couple of days to see if there is any more info.

Leave a Reply

