Gray areas


I wrote about ICC having to clarify the rules a couple of posts back. I’ve now created a new “Gray Areas” category where I’ll post of any weird situations that I can think of. I’ve thought of several in the past, but never wrote them down, so I can’t remember them all off the top of my head right now. Here’s one to start off though.

Say the batsman gets an inside edge and ball then goes to nestle between his knee and pad (this has happened surprisingly often). Can a fielder then reach in and claim a catch?


3 Responses to “Gray areas”

  1. sukhi Says:

    If the anglo-saxons do it, it’d be “not exactly in the spirit of the game. but understandable – highly competitive”. For sub-continentals its gonna be “violating the gentlemanly spirit of the game”.

  2. Ankur Nagpal Says:

    I’d like to see a fielder “reaching in” inside a batsmans pad 🙂 – It’s not gonna happen!

  3. Pratik Says:

    Fair enough. What if the batsman bends his knee to let the ball drop to the ground and the fielder dives and catches it? What then?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: